Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, April 15, 1971 A rumpled and crumpled egg is what Mrs. Kenny Burgess brought.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, April 8, 1971 Wet snow again, three to twelve inches Wednesday morning. – –.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, April 1, 1971 Seven inches of snow Friday, March 26. – – – Mrs..

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, March 25, 1971 Mr. and Mrs. Elbert Whanger have returned to Durbin after spending.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, March 18, 1971 The frogs were out in full chorus Saturday night. One of.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, March 11, 1971   As soon as weather permits, construction will start on the.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, March 4, 1971 During Friday night’s rain, Mrs. Norman Alderman, of Huntersville, heard the.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, February 25, 1971 The Marvin Chapel Church needs a new roof and the “Black.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, February 18, 1971 The ice went out of Knapps Creek Saturday afternoon with the.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, February 11, 1971 Six below zero on Browns Mountain Wednesday morning. Tuesday night, Mrs..

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, February 4, 1971 Winter Don’t miss seeing the ice on the Greenbrier. No doubt.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, January 28, 1971 Fair Queen Jo Debra Galford was selected as Miss West Virginia.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, January 21, 1971 Chapter Star Farmer Lynn Jordan of the Pocahontas County FFA chapter.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, January 14, 1971 The locomotive headed for Cass passed through Marlinton Monday atop a.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, January 7, 1971 Elmer Wymer, of Hillsboro, reports seeing a flock of about 40.

112 Years Ago

Thursday, January 31, 1908 Captain Joe Gay returned from Williamsburg, Greenbrier county, where he and.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, December 17, 1970 Marlinton Fire Department As a result of fast and efficient response.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, December 10, 1970 Basketball fans are in for a delightful treat and exciting evening.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, December 3, 1970 David Lyle Moore, twelve year old son of Mr. and Mrs..

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, November 26, 1970 Governor Moore is starting a drive to haul away junked and.