Subscribe Today

Unofficial election results

Durbin Town Election results were posted at 10:38 Tuesday night.
Mike Vance is the unofficial winner in the mayor’s race with 41 votes to incumbent Kenny Lehman’s 38.
Six provisional ballots will be considered at the canvass, which could change some of the final totals.
Write-in candidate Shereen Bailey was re-elected to the office of Town Recorder.
Only three candidates filed for the five council seats: Mark Smith, Donald Jennings and Donald Peck, all of whom were elected.
There were four write-ins for the other two seats.
Ronald E. Warner, Jr. easily won the fourth seat, as he garnered more votes than any candidate in any race on the ballot.
The fifth seat on council is now in a tie between Thelma M. Smith and Candace Kay Lehman with 31 votes each.
If vote totals remain the same after the canvass, the winner of the fifth seat will be determined by an approved method.

Two candidates – Gail Siers and Dennis Doss – vied for the office of Mayor of the Town of Hillsboro. Siers was elected by a wide margin.
Andrew Rice, who was unopposed, will serve as Town Recorder and council members are Janice Goode, John Hill, Kenneth Frum, Sam McNeel and Barb Lewis Siers.
In the Town of Marlinton election, Sam Felton was elected to a second term with 126 votes.
Former councilmember Mark Strauss received 86 votes in his first bid for the office of mayor.
B. J. Gudmundsson will serve another term as Recorder. She was unopposed in that race.
Scott Gibb, Joe Smith, Chris Curry, Bill McMann and Gail Hyer were elected to council.

more recommended stories