Marlinton Middle School students pose with the trophies and medals they received at the Super Scholars Awards ceremony April 30. S. Stewart photo
Marlinton Middle School students pose with the trophies and medals they received at the Super Scholars Awards ceremony April 30. S. Stewart photo

Teachers, principals, board of education members and Superintendent Dr. Donald Bechtel recognized students from third to 12th grade for their achievements at the Super Scholars Awards ceremony Wednesday at Pocahontas County High School.

Bechtel congratulated the students and told them to be proud of themselves for their achievements.

“What you accomplished is real significant,” he said. “When you look at that trophy and that medal in the next days, weeks, months – pause and say ‘I accomplished something through hard work and dedication.’ Gentlemen and ladies, thank you for taking pride in the way you look. You look beautiful this evening and you look handsome. Great work.”

To be recognized as a super scholar, students must be in grades three through 12, must attain an overall cumulative average of 93 percent at the end of the third nine weeks in the core subjects of language arts, mathematics, science and social students, and cannot have below a C in any other subject.

The 2013-2014 super scholars are:

Hillsboro Elementary School: Waylon Lucabaugh, Allyson Alderman, Chloe Hardesty, Faith Johnson, Lexi Price, Savannah McMillion, Ethan Armstrong, Emily Henderson, Logan Hively, Hannah Buly, Cassidy Hardesty, Lanty Rose and Robert Pritt.

Marlinton Elementary School: Amanda Burns, Sydney Puffenbarger, Ryan Robertson, Hazel Riley, Maxwell Ervine, Natalie Agee, Jaryd Friel, Sarah Warder, Benjamin Dunz, Macaden Taylor, Jaylee Doss, Rachel Burns, Haley Spencer, Tucker McGee, David Gibb, Ryan Combs, Gareth Ryder and Rayna Smith.

Green Bank Elementary-Middle School: Max O’Ganian, Sienna Bircher, Carleigh Warner, Kira Bircher, Noah Barkley, Jacob Hise, Emma Riffe, Ty Cochran, Cheylin Woodruff, Dakin Rexrode, Jacob Jones, Meggan Long, Mason Solliday, Joseph Hajzer, Alexa Taylor, Logan Woodruff, Brianna Morgan, Dewayne Lambert, McKenna Woody, Jennalee Meck, Charity Warder, Matthias Solliday and Cora Hedrick.

Marlinton Middle School: Brandon Burns, Jacob Davis, Alan Gibson, Tessa Kiner, Hadden Mick, Silas Riley, Virgilo TeJano, Glen Wilt, Conner Spencer, Julianna Agee, Brody Buzzard, Michael Hardesty, Carly Keatley, Michael McGee, Charity Morrison, Amelia Rose, Thomas Smith, Devyn Young, Ben Davis, Brianna Hefner, Braeden Hicks, Abram Leyzorek, Taylor Tegtmeyer, Elijah Robertson, Brandon Puffenbarger, Jake Faris, Mark Jordan, Caitlin Keatley, Laura Leyzorek, Briar Wilfong, Hunter Wilfong and Catlyn Sparks.

Pocahontas County High School: Kourtney Cohenour, Lara Baudler, Tessa Himelrick, Michelle Murphy, Cade Walker, Corinne Airgood, Patrick Collins, Isaac Hise, Allie Erlewine, Hannah Nelson, Clay Friel, Dayla Lambert, Jennifer Fertig, Bradley Harper, Emily Boothe, Audrey Lore, Matt Rao, Casey Griffith, Cary Robertson, Allysa Dunbrack, Francis LaBounty, Jr., Linzi Myers, Wesley Felton, Chyanna Hall, Rebekah Anderson, Amanda Gibson, Kayla Gibson, Marilyn Creager, Makalya Marks, Samantha Collins, Vincent Harper, David Rose, Miles Goodall, Allison Jonese, Haley Nelson, Fredricah Gardner, Makeia Jonese, Josie Biller and Danielle Stuart.

Bechtel also recognized county Golden Horseshoe winners Jacob Hise and William Payton, both GBEMS students.

Along with recognizing student achievements, Bechtel announced county Service Employee of the Year and Teacher of the Year nominees and winners.

Each school nominates a service employee and teacher for their dedication to the students and schools they serve. From those 10 nominees, a winner is selected for both service and teacher.
Service Employee of the Year, classroom aide Lesa McCarty, was announced by GBEMS principal Ricky Sharp.

“I would like to recognize a person who is a graduate of Pocahontas County High School, mother of four and one of the most caring and compassionate people that I know,” Sharp said. “This year, she just went above and beyond on numerous occasions and placed the students’ interest first.”

Service Employee of the Year nominees were: Carrie Hickman, classroom aide at Hillsboro Elementary School; Joann Estep, secretary at Marlinton Elementary School; Kim McComb, cook at Pocahontas County High School; and Tonja Armstrong, aide at Marlinton Middle School.

MMS principal Joe Riley recognized Teacher of the Year Stephanie Burns.

“Whenever I think about Stephanie, I think about the fact that she cares for every student that walks into her classroom,” Riley said. “She is dedicated and her students love her.”

Teacher of the Year nominees were: Kelli Tallman, Hillsboro Elementary School; Greg Morgan, Green Bank Elementary-Middle School; Pam McCurdy, Marlinton Elementary School; and Kathy White, Pocahontas County High School.

During the ceremony, Becthel called attention to the podium which was recently donated in memory of James T. Martin, II.

“This is the first evening for the high school to use this podium,” Mrs. [Nancy] Martin had it created in memory of her husband [Jim]. It is a piece of art and I’m honored to be here this evening, [using this podium] in recognition of Mrs. Martin’s husband.”

Suzanne Stewart may be contacted at