Subscribe Today

Students and staff honored at Super Scholars event

Pocahontas County Teacher of the Year Melissa Taylor, left, and Service Personnel of the Year Ella Taylor were honored at the Super Scholars event May 18. Photo courtesy of Renee Hill
Pocahontas County Teacher of the Year Melissa Taylor, left, and Service Personnel of the Year Ella Taylor were honored at the Super Scholars event May 18. Photo courtesy of Renee Hill

Suzanne Stewart
Staff Writer

Pocahontas County students in grades three through 12 were honored as Super Scholars at an award ceremony May 18 at Pocahontas County High School.

To be designated as a Super Scholar, students must achieve an overall cumulative average of 93 percent at the end of the third nine weeks in the core subjects of language arts, mathematics, science and social studies. High school students must attain a 4.0 average and students cannot have below a C average in any other subject.

Fifth, eighth and 12th grade students were also presented the President’s Award for Education Achievement.

Before the students were given their awards, Superintendent Dr. Donald Bechtel and school principals honored staff members nominated as Teacher of the Year and Service Personnel of the Year.

The Pocahontas County Service Personnel of the Year is Ella Taylor, a classroom aide at Green Bank Elementary-Middle School.

Principal Ricky Sharp spoke of Taylor’s dedication to the school, students and staff.

“I personally like to think that this young lady is the heart of my school because she is aware of the health, happiness and well-being of staff, students and the community as a whole,” Sharp said. “She has a prevailing and natural sense of genuine care and concern for others that surpasses the duties of her job. During her 41 years of service, she has served three different generations of students as a Title I aide, athletic director and kindergarten aide.”

Taylor has also acted as a chaperone for activities, manages the flower garden and is the editor of the school newspaper.

“In the period that I’ve interacted with her, she not only comes across as a friendly and compassionate co-worker, but someone that I am honored to call a friend,” Sharp concluded.

The Pocahontas County Teacher of the Year was also from GBEMS – elementary teacher Melissa Taylor.

“In addition to being a wife and the mother of two beautiful young ladies, she is one of the reasons for the success of Green Bank School,” Sharp said. “As one of her co-workers described her – she is a fair, honest, consistent, thorough, meticulous and dependable person. Her calm, steady mannerisms bring a sense of security to her students. While focused and concise, she is flexible teaching students and quite willing to give second chances and individual instruction to all.”

Service Personnel of the Year nominees from each school were also honored – Marlinton Elementary School, Tabbi McCoy; Hillsboro Elementary School, Sarah Hamilton; Marlinton Middle School, Tonja Armstrong; and Pocahontas County High School, Sarah Hedrick.

Teacher of the Year nominees honored by each school were – Marlinton Elementary School, Brian Smith; Hillsboro Elementary School, Maria Hall; Marlinton Middle School; and Pocahontas County High School, Christopher Sutton.

Students receiving honors as Super Scholars were:

Hillsboro Elementary School: Kynlee Wilfong, Andrea Alderman, Elijah Evans, Allyson Alderman, Hannah Buly, Jessica Armstrong, Clayton Burns, Timmy Staton, Ethan Armstrong, Nathan Tawney, Cheyenne Dean, Gavin Walls, Robert Pritt and Jared Beverage

Marlinton Elementary School: Hannah Burks, Cameryn Boggs, Haley Spencer, Benjamin Dunz, Hazel Riley, Ryan Robertson, Sarah Warder, Jordan Faris, Sabina Leyzorek, Sydney Puffenbarger, David Gibb, Rachel Burns, Rayna Smith, Macaden Taylor, Elizabeth Friel, Amanda Burns, Jaryd Friel, Gareth Ryder, Maxwell Ervine and Jaylee Doss.

Green Bank Elementary-Middle School: Ashley Bussard, Olivia Vandevender, Mason Solliday, Emily Rimm, Hunter Curran, Johnevin Wayne, Carleigh Warner, Jacob Barkley, Alexa Taylor, Mathias Solliday, Jillian Fortney, Maxwell O’Ganian, Grace Beverage, Melinda Beverage, Hannah Hammons, Sienne Bircher, Cheylin Woodruff, Jennalee Meck, Brianna Morgan, Logan Woodruff, Madeline Ray, Emma Riffe, Austin Morgan, Iam Johnstone, Jayden Cover, Ty Cochran, Joseph Hajzer, Kira Bircher, Jacob Jones and Noah Barkley.

Marlinton Middle School: Brandon Burns, Cassidy Hardesty, Logan Hively, Hadden Mick, Virgilio Tejano, Charity Morrison, Josey Faris, James Sharp, Jacob Davis, Chloe Hardesty, Faith Johnson, Alexis Price, Brody Buzzard, Emalee Arbogast, Abram Leyzorek, Taylor Tegtmeyer, Alan Gibson, Emily Henderson, Savannah McMillion, Silas Riley, Isaac Evans, Ben Davis and Brandon Puffenbarger.

Pocahontas County High School: Cora Hedrick, Jacob Hise, Laura Leyzorek, Briar Wilfong, Carlie Ervine, Kayla Gibson, Lindsey Hartzell, Brady Jones, Lara Baudler, Marilyn Creager, Audrey Lore, Heather Pritt, David Rose, Kayla Lester, Isaac Hise, Vincent Harper, Phillip Green, Miles Goodall, Alyssa Dunbrack and Casey Griffith.

Receiving the President’s Award for Education Achievement were:

Hunter Curran, Brianna Morgan, Hannah Hammons, Logan Woodruff, Hannah Buly, Jaylee Doss, David Bigg, Ryan Robertson, Benjamin Davis, Abram Leyzorek, Taylor Tegtmeyer, Brianna Hefner, Brandon Puffenbarger, Chad Burns, Casey Griffith, Kayla Lester, Patrick Collins, Vincent Harper, David Rose, Miles Goodall and Isaac Hise.

Dr. Bechtel also recognized Golden Horseshoe winners Logan Woodruff and Colton Massey; and Honorary Knight of the Golden Horseshoe, Thomas Boothe.

Suzanne Stewart may be contacted at

more recommended stories