Thursday, October 27, 1949
Jacob Marlin and Stephen Sewell built the first cabin and lived here in 1750-51. Following a dispute, Sewell moved into a hollow tree located where the James Bear house now stands.
The second home was built about 1800 by Col. Wm. T. Poage, who owned all of Marlin’s Bottom plantation. His wife was Col. Jacob Warwick’s widow. Warwick obtained the land by a grant from England prior to 1776. This house was located on Hamilton Field near where the Al Jack home stands. Rev. Wm. T. Price was born there in his grandfather’s home in 1830.
Col. Poage built a new home and moved to the present site of the Cal Price and Clyde Moore homes on Lower Second Avenue.
The fourth house was the Price homestead built on the west side of the river. It was the home of Atlee Price, James A. Price and Woodsie Price. The original chimney and kitchen were restored and built in a modern residence owned by Mrs. Anna V. hunter, now occupied by the Bob Fitzgerald family.
The fifth home is the one generally known as the first home in Marlinton. The building best known as the old McLaughlin Hotel was the Andrew McLaughlin home until 1890. His wife was Mary Poage Price. The northeast portion has the original logs, curved staircase and stone chimney in use in the building now owned by Arden Killingsworth (located at the corner of Tenth Avenue and Eighth Street).
The next home was built in 1849 by Harper McLaughlin. It is well known as the Brown Yeager home and stands as a modern residence across the street from the Hench and Clarence Moore homes (on Tenth Avenue).
In 1850, the Toll House was built by Mrs. Margaret Poage Price for the Toll Bridge Keeper.
The Sam Gay house stood in 1885 on the west side of the river in Price Hollow near the present residence of our friend, Bill Stewart.
In 1890, the Rev Wm. T. Price house was built by himself and sons for a Manse. It stands as Dr. Norman Price’s home (on Seneca Trail).
John Moss built a home where the Bank of Marlinton stands. He operated a barbershop there.
When Marlinton became the county seat in 1892, many families moved here from Huntersville.
Some of the first homes to be built about this time were:
The Lock McClintic residence, now occupied by his widow and daughter.
Uriah Bird: Miss Pearl Carter’s reconstructed home.
S. L. Brown home was located on the corner near John Sydenstricker (corner of Eighth Street and Seventh Avenue).
Capt. A. E. Smith home, owned by Eugene Daetwyler (on Tenth Avenue).
Scott Rucker home, owned by Mrs. Eskridge (Tenth Avenue and Judge Street, left of courthouse).
Clawson McNeill home across the corner from Lock McClintic residence, owned by G. D. Wooddell.
The Boyd Bartlett home near the Clark Hotel.
The King home, occupied by the Richard Currence Family (Tenth Avenue).
When the brick courthouse was built, the bricks were burned on Hamilton Field. The remaining bricks went into Marlinton’s first brick home. It was built by Capt. Smith and is now owned by Genevieve and Arnout Yeager and is occupied by Mrs. Grace Yeager and her son, Arnout.