Nine candidates file for county commission seats

The filing deadline for candidates for local and state offices expired at midnight on Saturday night. Here are the candidates who filed to run for election this year.

Five candidates, including incumbent David Fleming, will run for the Pocahontas County Commission seat, to represent the northern magisterial district. Fleming will be challenged by three Democrats: Durbin businessman and fire chief Kenneth “Buster” Varner, and Dunmore residents David McLaughlin and Patti Heineman. West Virginia Farm Bureau President Charles Albert Wilfong is the sole Republican candidate for the commission seat. Although the candidates must reside in the northern district, all county voters cast ballots for the commission seat.

Four candidates filed to serve the unexpired four years of late Commissioner Dolan Irvine’s term, including Democrat William S. Beard, Jr., who was appointed as an interim commissioner. Challenging Beard will be Republican Norman Lee Alderman, of Beaver Creek; Democrat Shay Huffman, of Hillsboro; and Democrat Sarah Riley, of Hillsboro.

Two Pocahontas County Board of Education candidates will run unopposed because they are the only candidates from their respective districts. Emery Grimes, of Frost, will represent the northern district and Jan McNeel, of Hillsboro, will represent the southern district. Jessica Hefner, of Marlinton, and Lynn Jordan, of Marlinton, will vie for a seat to represent the central district on the board.

For the Democratic Executive Committee – Female, Christine A. Smith, of Marlinton, is the sole candidate. Two candidates, William McMann, of Marlinton, and Matt Tate, of Hillsboro, are running for Democratic Executive – Male seats.

Jeremy D. Bauserman, of Durbin, is the sole candidate for Republican Executive Committee – Male. Bauserman is also the sole candidate for two other offices: Senatorial Republican Executive Committee – Male, and Delegate Republican Executive committee – Male.

Six candidates have filed to run for the U.S. Senate seat vacated by the retirement of Jay Rockefeller. Current West Virginia Secretary of State Democrat Natalie Tenant, of Charleston, and U.S. Representative for the Second Congressional District Republican Shelley Moore Capito, of Charleston, are considered the frontrunners. Other candidates who filed by the deadline are Republican Larry E. Butcher, of Washington; Republican Matthew Dodrill, of Parkersburg; Democrat Dennis Melton, of Buckhannon, and Democrat David B. Wamsley, of Williamstown.

Two candidates filed to challenge incumbent U.S. Representative Nick Rahall for the Third U.S. Congressional District seat: Democrat Richard Ojeda II, of Holden, and Republican Evan Jenkins, of Huntington.

Incumbent Democratic State Senator Gregory Tucker will be challenged by two Republicans for the 11th Senate District seat: Steve Foster, of Buckhannon, and Robert L. Karnes, of Buckhannon.

Five candidates have filed to run for the 43rd District House of Delegates seat, including incumbents Democrat Bill Hartman and Democrat Denise Campbell. Challenging the incumbents are Republican Mary Catherine Boltz, of Beverly; Republican Charles B. Kinnison, of Elkins, and Republican Lonnie E. Randall, of Elkins.

Primary election day is Tuesday, May 13, and primary early voting will be conducted between April 30 to May 10. Uniformed and overseas voters can request an absentee ballot between now and May 7. All other voters may request an absentee ballot between February 18 and May 7. The general election will be held on Tuesday, November 4.








more recommended stories