Subscribe Today

Election results – New mayors and an undecided council seat

Jaynell Graham

Elections were held Tuesday, June 9, in the three municipalities of Pocahontas County, with only three races to be decided by the voters. Those races were for Marlinton Mayor, Durbin Mayor, and five Marlinton Town Council seats. Six candidates were vying for those five seats.

At the end of the evening, only two races were totally decided.

Unofficial results – Town of Marlinton Election

Mayor: Sam Felton

Recorder: Roberta “BJ” Gudmundsson

Four council seats will be filled by Mark Strauss, who garnered 177 votes; Adam Irvine, 167, Don Morrison, 156; and Norris Long, 136.

The full council is yet to be determined as incumbent council member Sue Helton and candidate Scott Gibb tied for the fifth seat with 116 votes each.

Unofficial results – Durbin Town Election

Mayor: Kenneth “Kenny” Lehman

Recorder: Danielle Wood Findley

Council members: Mark Smith, Sheila Varner, Robert L. Gray, Jr., Jeremy Donald Bauserman and Shirley Mae Tracy

Unofficial results – Hillsboro Town Election

Mayor: Anne Walker

Recorder: No candidates filed

Council members: Sarah Groves, Richard Workman Samuel McNeel, Jr. John Hill and Janice Good.

Challenged ballots will be considered when the election results are canvassed Monday, June 15.

more recommended stories