Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, July 24, 1969 Our Men in Service Dak To, Vietnam – The enemy ambush.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, July 17, 1969 Seven boys and girls from Pocahontas County learned about the world.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, July 10, 1969 APPRECIATION If you need any moving done, we’re right here to.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, July 3, 1969 Grady Chestnut, of Neola, will be remembered as the serviceman who.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, June 26, 1969 DAM DEDICATED Buffalo Fork Dam, near Bartow and Thornwood, was dedicated.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, June 19, 1969 RETIRING Mr. H. A. Yeager has had a long and honorable.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, June 12, 1969 Welcome to Pocahontas The best kept secret of recent times was.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, June 5, 1969 BEAR Argile Arbogast shot THE Bear last Wednesday; four hundred pounds,.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, May 29, 1969 People from this side of the mountain were a distinct minority.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, May 22, 1969 Boys and Girls in Service Marvin Perry, son of Mr. and.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, May 15, 1969 Boys in Service PFC John Madison arrived in Korea where he.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, May 8, 1969 The Marlinton Rotary Clubs had a work meeting Monday night and.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, May 1, 1969 TOWN NEEDS This is written before any town candidates have been.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, April 24, 1969 Boys and Girls in Service Sergeant Joel W. Callison arrived home.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, April 17, 1969 Clean Up Time Spring is breaking out all over and nature.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, April 10, 1969 Dies in Viet Nam Word was received Tuesday, of the death.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, March 27, 1969 Killed in Action Specialist Fourth Class Jackie Lee Rexrode, 20, of.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, March 20, 1969 Robert McComb, Jr., entered the Army on March 4 and is.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, March 13, 1969 AWARD Presentation of medals posthumously to Sergeant John R. (Chipper) Williams,.

Fifty Years Ago

Thursday, March 6, 1969 Our Boys in Service Sp-5 William C. Vandevender returned home December.